2019 Ib. City Marathon: 2016 Runner Up Emerged Winner

Istifanous Peter, a plateau born and also a 2nd position winner in the 2016, 4th in 2017 and 2018 at Ibadan City Marathon Race has finally came 1st and emerged winner of the eleventh edition of the Splash FM/Power Oil marathon race in the male category after several attempts while Deborah Pam (2018 winner) also emerged a winner in the female category.

The 42km marathon race which took off from the Obafemi Awolowo stadium, Liberty at exactly 7.47am was rounded off around noon
While Istifanous Peter got the star prize of one million naira, Danjuma Gyan, Sharabutu Philipus emerged second and third and respectively, getting four hundred thousand naira and two hundred thousand naira respectively and for the female category, Hudung Gyang and Elizabeth Nuhu Pawa got two fifty thousand naira and one fifty thousand naira respectively.

The winners identified hardwork, persistency and determination as the secret of their success and commended Splashfm/Power Oil for always staying on course in providing a platform for them to advance their careers.

Earlier, Governor Abiola Ajimobi who flagged off the race applauded the chairman and founder of Splashfm, Maye Olubadan of Ibadanland chief Adebayo Akande for the consistency and vision in organizing the race, while advising that a pre lecture should have been organized to accentuate the theme of the marathon race which was good governance, transparency and accountability.

Chief Executive Officer of splashfm, Mrs. Atinuke Adetunji reaffirmed the stance of splashfm in advancing the course of transparency and integrity in line with the theme of the marathon.

Barbers association won the artisan race, while Oyiza orphanage home, Aperin School for the blind and New Dawn home won prizes in the category of running for a course.